Intro

First let me begin by saying that the title of my blog sucks and is totally not creative, as am I.  But I do love food, that much is true. I know, I know, who doesn’t love food? But here’s what I think: I think that some people who claim to love food, really don’t. They love eating. I used to be one of these people. I claimed to love food, but really I just loved the act of eating and the feeling of being satisfied after this act. These are important parts of loving food, yes, however, I don’t feel that I knew enough about food to love it. In fact, I didn’t know shit about food.  I ate what was comfortable for me and I rarely tried anything new. I knew nothing about what a good restaurant was supposed to be and ate where it was convenient and not too weird, and in turn, wasted a lot of money on mediocre meals. Now, I’m not saying that I know a lot about food now, not at all. I have much to learn and the chief reason I began this blog was to push myself to learn more, cook better and try new things. And of course, share successful recipes with my friends. I’d say, I still don’t know shit about food. But, I appreciate it and know now that I truly and passionately love food.  I love different flavors and textures and especially unexpected combinations.  I love using herbs, fresh and dried, and the smell of garlic cooking in oil. I love the way green tomatoes look in my white bowl or cutting open a bell pepper to find that weird pepper baby inside of it. I love to see mounds of fresh fruit and veggies at a local farmer’s market and buying tons of it, knowing some will go to waste, but being positive I can find perfect recipes to use them all. I love the first bite of something new and fabulous I’ve prepared and the feeling of accomplishment that yes, I made that! I love ordering something on the menu that I can’t pronounce and have never heard of, it’s so exciting. And man do I love a good steak, filet, medium rare with the perfect sear. And crab cakes, I love crab cakes, mine especially, because I really do make the best.

One thought on “Intro

Leave a Reply

